Charlie – 4 year old male Beagle cross Collie

Hi there, my name’s Charlie and I’m a 4 year old male Beagle cross Collie. I’m looking for experienced new owners who can give me the guidance and mental stimulation I crave in my daily life. As you can imagine, being the mix that I am means I’m a very high energy boy, so owners with an active lifestyle is a MUST! I’ve definitely got the collie brain and love to learn – it would really benefit me to have new owners that have lots of time to dedicate to me, and love doing lots of training with intelligent pooches like myself.

GREAT NEWS! This Dog Has Now Been Rehomed
Thanks to good people like yourself who use dogsblog.com on a daily basis, this dog has now found a new, permanent loving home. There are more dogs still looking though…

Allow us to find your new PERFECT canine friend with our dogsblog.com matchmaker service. Enter your details below to receive a tailored, hand-picked list of available dogs for adoption…

Unfortunately when I get bored, I will get up to mischief to entertain myself, this does result in unwanted behaviours which include chasing traffic, barking at other dogs and pulling on the lead, so it’s really important and essential that my new owners have lots of time to dedicate to me and put my brain to work – I’m a very happy boy if I’m learning and it keeps those naughty behaviours at bay! I’m so intelligent that I need to be kept on my paws, and wouldn’t it be great for me and my new humans to have lots of cool tricks to show everyone!

I am very wary around new people, especially unfamiliar men but women also, so my new owners will need to understand that it may take me time to build up a bond with them, and I will need to take my introductions to new people slowly so I don’t become overwhelmed. My friends here have taught me how to wear a muzzle, this is so that I can continue having safe meet and greets with new humans and hopefully continue safely building back my trust in people that I don’t know.

Once I trust someone, I’m very loving and you’ll have a friend for life, I just need to be given the time to build a relationship of trust with someone, having new humans that have experience owning nervous rescue dogs would be really beneficial for me, my friends say I just need someone with the patience to help me regain my confidence.

As I’m traffic reactive at present, I’d benefit greatly from a new home in a more RURAL area, somewhere I can have lots of walks in the countryside whilst gradually working on my reactivity on quieter roads. I really love my walks, sniffing in new places is great fun and pleases my Beagle nose! I also love playing with toys and think a ball game is great fun, my friends here say I’m really good at bringing the ball back and swapping it for a tasty treat!

My friends have introduced me to numerous dogs of all different shapes and sizes since I arrived at the centre, they have noticed I can be quite boisterous and lack doggy etiquette at times so they make sure I walk with other sociable dogs as often as possible and my manners have gradually been improving but it’s important my new humans understand they will need continue working with me on my social skills and having polite meetings with other dogs when we’re out and about so I can continue with the progress I’ve been making and hopefully enjoy walks with some other dogs once settled in my new home.

The team don’t want to rule out the chance of me living with a well-socialized female if the right home came along, but this would be very dependent on lots of satisfactory meets at the centre and in the home environment.

Ideally they think I’d benefit more from being the only dog in the home so that my new owners can devote all their time to me and my training needs – I also wouldn’t want to teach any resident dogs my naughty habits. I am unable to live with cats or small furrys! I will need an ADULT ONLY home.

Default image
National Animal Welfare Trust Cornwall
For further details regarding adopting a dog from National Animal Welfare Trust Cronwall, please telephone 01736 756005 or email cornwallreception@hotmail.co.uk : Wheal Alfred Kennels, Hayle, Cornwall. TR27 5JT Opening hours are 11am - 3pm daily. We ask for an adoption fee of £200.00 for dogs and £100.00 for cats which includes neutering, vaccinations, microchipping, wormer and flea treatment and 4 weeks free insurance. We can only rehome in Cornwall due to the visits required to the centre pre-adoption and after care. Homechecks will be carried out on potential owners. www.nawt.org.uk/cornwall
Articles: 44