Phoebe is a 1-2 year old female German Shepherd Dog. She is now safe in a foster home, she is putting on weight and gaining confidence.

We didn’t have very much information on her but as she is being assessed by her foster mom, and once been to the vet, we will be able to supply more information about this lovely girl. On arrival she was nervous, good on a lead and getting used to the other dogs, I bathed her and she loved that!

The poor soul is underweight and has very sore ears, which I now have drops for. I will let her settle a little longer before her vet visits, she does not eat well but have found a food she now likes.

It has taken her a few days to be able to sleep without being on hi-alert, she has most certainly suffered some abuse by the way she reacts, yet she is lead trained and will sit and give a paw, will not accept treats, nor knows what toys are, and is unsure how to behave with other dogs, very sad.

Her coat is like that of a dog who has lived outside, and she is not house-trained, but she is intelligent and we are working on that now, I am certain all these issues can be sorted out with some kindness. She travelled well in the car.

After just two weeks, Phoebe is very much better now, with no further tummy troubles or sore ears, she has regained her strength very quickly and has put a little weight on. She does not like cats, and her confidence has grown so that she is not getting along with my other dogs.

I feel this is sad as I think she may have been left tied up alone, and that she has not been socialised. We are trying to rectify this slowly as she can be a little aggressive with my other dogs. She now plays with toys and is good with people and teenagers.

Each day I allow friends to walk her as she can become attached to me quickly, she now eats more slowly, (not like a wild dog as she did when she first arrived). I do feel with training and the right home, perhaps as an only dog, or one other that she will thrive.

I do walk her with my other dogs and will continue to try and help her enjoy their company and not see them as a threat to her. On the whole, two weeks has shown a lot of progress.

Phoebe is currently located in Tarporley, Cheshire. The Adoption Fee: is £185. All our adoptions are subject to successful home checks. There is now a deposit for all home checks of £25 which is deducted from the adoption fee.

If the home check fails the £25 will be reimbursed. If people withdraw after the home check this is non-refundable.

Enquire About This Dog ⇢
Dogwatchuk West Midlands
Dogwatchuk West Midlands

If you are interested in adopting any of our dogs, please go to our website, and download an enquiry form or email us at or telephone Denise Boardman on 07914737993. We rehome across the UK!

We rehome across the UK!

Articles: 1675